Recreational cannabis has been legal for people aged 21 and over in Connecticut since July 1, 2021, medical marijuana was legalized through legislative action in 2012.
Although cannabis is now legal in the state of Connecticut, there are strict laws that have been put in place to ensure safe consumption, growth and possession. Laws that carry fines and even time incarcerated if not adhered to.
Due to these laws that are in place to assist in regulating the recreational cannabis industry in Connecticut, we have broken things down to give you a go-to guide to make sure you are not in infringement of the law, and therefore do not get fined or even become incarcerated.
Adults may not possess more than one and a half ounces (43 g) of marijuana at any given time, and they may not possess more than five ounces (140 g) of marijuana in their residences or vehicles.
Possession Over The Legal Amount
Although Cannabis possession is now legal, there are still criminal punishments for possession over the stated amount.
If you possess over 1.5 ounces of marijuana in the public, you may be fined. Higher fines will be imposed if you’re caught possessing additional amounts.
If you’re caught possessing more than one and a half ounces of marijuana, you could be fined up to $200-$500.
If you’re caught with between one and half ounces and four ounces of marijuana, you could be charged with a misdemeanor.
If this is a first offense, this may result in jail time and a fine of up to $1,000. It could also trigger deportation proceedings if you’re not a U.S. citizen.
If you commit another crime after having been convicted of this previous one, it will become a felony and carry penalties of up to five (5) year’s imprisonment and a $3,000 penalty.
Possession of four ounces or more of marijuana as a first offense is a crime punishable by five years in prison and a $2,500 penalty. If you commit subsequent crimes, you could be sentenced to 10 years in prison and fined $5,000.
Where Can You Consume Cannabis?
Outside private premises, in general, you will not be able to consume cannabis anywhere where you can’t consume cigarettes or vaping devices.
In the future, cities and towns may pass laws regulating whether and where marijuana can be smoked in public, but for now, the rules remain the same for smoking and vaping.
Landlords may not allow tenants to smoke marijuana at their homes if they wish, but they cannot ban them from possessing or consuming any other form of cannabis.
Recreational cannabis use will be prohibited at state park sites and on state beach and water bodies.
Where Can You Purchase Recreational Cannabis In Connecticut?
There are numerous medical cannabis dispensaries across the state, but due to complications in the licensing of recreational cannabis dispensaries, i.e. the fees to change to recreational purposing and growing capacity, they are not due to open in Connecticut until the end of 2022.
However, Multiple recreational dispensaries are available in neighboring states.
From October 1, 2021, medical marijuana patients 18 years old and older are allowed to cultivate up to three mature and three immature cannabis plants indoors.
Adults over the legal smoking age of 21 years old are allowed to cultivate under the same rules from January 1, 2023, with a maximum of 12 plants per household.
You will need to grow plants inside, so they cannot be visible from outside your property.
People who want to grow their own plants need to do so in their primary residences and where people under age 21 cannot gain access to the plant.
Safe Storage Of Cannabis At Home
If you chose to store cannabis at your home, it is important that people under the age of 21 cannot gain access to your cannabis, so here are some helpful safe storage tips:
- Store cannabis products in its original packaging and retain the labels. Cannabis products sold at licensed cannabis establishments will be labeled with important details, including how much THC they contain.
- Make a list of cannabis items in your house. Knowing which cannabis products you have at home at their potency (Check out these Creeper Weed Strains) can help if you, a child or your pet accidentally ingests them.
- Keep your cannabis in a safe and locked location. You have a legal obligation to keep cannabis products out of the view and out of reach of kids and pets. You could consider using a safe or a locked box with a combination pad or keypad.
Safe Disposal Of Waste Cannabis Products
Cannabis waste includes all types of used cannabis. It also includes materials and packaging that has made contact with cannabis, but is not for sale or can no longer be used in any way.
In order for young people and pets to not gain access to your cannabis waste materials, it is important to dispose of your waste safely, here are some tips on how to do this:
- You shouldn’t dispose of cannabis waste alone as they will not decompose efficiently. Instead, mix them with other types of organic materials, like coffee grounds or cat litter. You should put the waste mixture in a sealed plastic bag and throw it away in the regular garbage.
- If the specific cannabis packaging used is recyclable, then throw out empty and clean containers with other recyclable materials. If the packaging isn’t recyclable, then throw away the empty container with the regular trash. Don’t flush any cannabis product or packaging down the sink, toilet, or sewer system.
In conclusion, Cannabis is now medically and recreationally legal in the state of Connecticut, but it still has legal ramifications if you do not stick to the new guidelines and law set by the state.
Ultimately to ensure safe practice of cannabis consumption, growth and possess.
- California Cannabis Laws (What You Need To Know) - November 16, 2022
- Delta 8 Hemp Cigarettes: A Beginner’s Guide - November 16, 2022
- Is Delta 8 Still Legal In Texas? - November 16, 2022